Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies w/ Chai Glaze

I wanted my first actual post to be a recipe that I have never tried before.  At my previous residence, one of my roommate’s girlfriend made some oatmeal cookies with cinnamon icing.  I tried one and fell in love.  She said it was one of those ready-made-all-you-need-to-do-is-bake kinda thing.  I ended up eating about 90% of the cookies that night…fact.  I’ve never made oatmeal cookies so I tried looking in stores for them but never found them.  Since I always bake chocolate chip cookies I figured why not try my hands at oatmeal cookies.  I came across this recipe Chewy Oatmeal Cookies with Coffee Icing and decided to make it my own by substituting Chai mix for coffee.  It’s pretty sublime if I do say so myself.

Follow the recipe for the cookie.  They came out chewy, moist, and dare I say perfect.  Take a look for yourself:

I followed the icing recipe exactly and only substituted one scoop of Chai mix and 2 T skim milk for the coffee.  I used Trader Joe’s Chai mix.  Here’s a picture of my icing in its ribbon-like consistency.  In culinary terms that would be nape (pronounced na-peh).

I had to bake it at 350 for 12 minutes, unlike the 6-8 minutes that the recipe called for.  And they turned out like this…

So divine!  A little on the sweet side, but nothing a glass of ice-cold skim milk couldn’t wash down.  I hope you enjoy!  I for sure did.

About kayjaypee97

Just a boy in the city, looking for food.
This entry was posted in Cookie, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

