The Perfect Pizza Sauce

Several years ago I got the Top Chef: The Cookbook recipe book for Christmas.  Out of all the recipes, the one that stood out and beckoned for me to try immediately was the Prosciutto and Cheese Pizza.  I have fooled around and experimented with many different toppings, BBQ Chicken, Margherita, Pesto, etc, but the it is the sauce that remained the constant.  I have used this recipe as the inspiration for my own pizza sauce recipe that can be used for many things.  I’ve used it as a dipping sauce for bread, sauce for my chicken parmesan, and of course, as pizza sauce.

Here is the recipe:

garlic

shallots

1 T extra-virgin olive oil

1 medium can tomato sauce

1 small can tomato paste

1/4-1/2 C red wine

1/4 C sugar

1/3 C basil

red pepper flakes, pepper, and salt (garlic salt) to taste

 

1.  Mince the garlic and chop the shallots and add along with olive oil to medium size pot.  Saute until shallots are translucent and you can smell the garlic.

2.  Pour in can of tomato sauce and tomato paste.  Add wine and sugar.  Stir.

3.  Add in chopped basil, pepper flakes, pepper, and salt.  Keep stirring.

4.  Cover and let simmer for at least 30 minutes.  Stir occasionally so that sauce doesn’t burn.  *Careful because sauce will tend to boil and pop and fly out.  I recommend using a big pot.

 

And that’s how I make my pizza sauce.  I’ve also tried using different crusts and doughs, like the regular or thin crust you can buy in stores.  However, recently I discovered a great substitution for a thin crust.  Are you ready for this……Tortillas!  Yup, that Mexican little marvel.

I set my oven to 400 and inserted my pizza stone…my William Sonoma Pizza Stone 😛  I drizzled some EVOO and sprinkled some pepper and salt on the tortilla.  I spread the sauce over the tortilla.  Not too much since the tortilla is thin and I do not want it to be moist and break.  I generously spread out some fresh mozzarella and baked it on the stone for about 10-12 minutes.  When it was done I sprinkled some fresh chopped basil and voila!

It tasted as good as it looked.  And the crust was crispy.

Feel free to use this sauce recipe and let me know what adventurous toppings you like on your pizza.

😀

 

About kayjaypee97

Just a boy in the city, looking for food.
This entry was posted in Photos, Pizza, Pizza Sauce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

